Customer ratings for store HobbyPartz.com

Thunder 1220 Professional Multifunction Lipo/Lilo/LiFe NiCd/MH Balance Charger

Thunder 1220 Professional Multifunction Lipo/Lilo/LiFe NiCd/MH Balance Chargerstar rating 4BigCSeptember 28, 2014I have charged with this charger maybe 6 Lipo's and now when I turn it on it goes through the start up and the LCD screen goes dim to the point you cant see anything on it, what could be the cause of this problem? this is the second one of these I had that did this.
Thunder 1220 Professional Multifunction Lipo/Lilo/LiFe NiCd/MH Balance Chargerstar rating 5Kristopher waughApril 15, 2013Awesome charger if u buy it i would recomend u buy a 25amp power supply because i only charge at 4.5 amps and i had a 5 amp power supply i kept blowing fuses any way awesome charger 4 cars and airplanes
Thunder 1220 Professional Multifunction Lipo/Lilo/LiFe NiCd/MH Balance Chargerstar rating 5KennyDecember 3, 2012Great product. I charge 1s packs so I needed something that has an adjustable voltage cutoff. Its small too which is great. Can't beat it!!!
Thunder 1220 Professional Multifunction Lipo/Lilo/LiFe NiCd/MH Balance Chargerstar rating 5MehdiNovember 13, 2012I have bought this unit only 4 month a go I had a problem with it (not working) within the 1st two weeks they fixed it now I am having the same problem and I am told that all their electronics comes with are you guys ready ONLY ONE MONTH OF WARRANTY this is sad and I just wasted 40 minutes with their Tech and was on hold for 30 minutes by him and finally got cut off if this is what they call support I have had enough no more purchases from them.
Thunder 1220 Professional Multifunction Lipo/Lilo/LiFe NiCd/MH Balance Chargerstar rating 5David BaconOctober 3, 2012I bought one for my son, and it was sent direct to him, so I didn't get to see it for a long time, but he was very pleased. This is a great charger, does even more than we needed. But the real test is when something goes wrong, and with ours, the display was dim. Michael Raiden answered my many questions and finally had me return it. I bought another first, and sent that to my son so he wouldn't be without a charger during critical RC Car race season. That one was beautiful, and so was the one sent back to my son for replacement. It took a while for me to get it from my son who is in Canada, and that is why I asked to have it sent to me, so now I have it and I can say it is beautiful also, great, easy to read display. Great price too, I got the second one on sale, can't beat it!
Thunder 1220 Professional Multifunction Lipo/Lilo/LiFe NiCd/MH Balance Chargerstar rating 5DonSeptember 30, 2012Great value for the money. Very powerful, performs as advertised..
Thunder 1220 Professional Multifunction Lipo/Lilo/LiFe NiCd/MH Balance Chargerstar rating 4Rich in ILMSeptember 21, 2012THis is a very powerful charger that does a great job. You can change the setting to 500 watts but just check the car battery frequently as it will run down quick if you are charging at high rates. My only concern is the very weak light level output on the digital display. It can be tough to read as compared to all my other chargers when outside.
Thunder 1220 Professional Multifunction Lipo/Lilo/LiFe NiCd/MH Balance Chargerstar rating 4Angry BearSeptember 6, 201240w discharge, which is very high at this price point. Will charge 12s. 20 amp rate, which it does do (up to 500w limit so probably limited to about 4s unless you have a high volt PS). Most of the normal settings (save one, see below). I was being my normal cheapskate self when I bought this, but I was surprised in a good way at the build of it and charging abilities. I only have two gripes with this item that are not related to it being cheaper. It would be unfair to complain about the lack of USB support or a temp port at this price point. The gripes are: 1) There is a 20,000mah limit. As such, if you're going to slap 4 big Lipo's on this (I use 8200mah for Summit) you may have to charge, then come back later and start it again to finish off the charge. There is no 'no mah limit' option that I can find. 2) The balance 'ending' is more of a timer than actually voltage based. It seems to just beep when it hits what it considers almost full, and then trickles down 1/100th of a second at a time until stopping. Even at slower charge rates like .5c I've never had a battery even close to full charge, best I can get is like 4.15-4.16 per cell, and that's directly after end. Let it sit for a bit and it's even lower. You can set the ending voltage, so I guess it theory you could tell it 4.23 or something and hope for a 4.18-4.2 charge, but I prefer to play it safe. Concluding, it will charge any of current types of battery, charge them FAST, but isn't GREAT on options. I got mine on sale just around $70 flat w/ free shipping. Any more than that and you may as well get an iCharger 206b for like $129.
Thunder 1220 Professional Multifunction Lipo/Lilo/LiFe NiCd/MH Balance Chargerstar rating 5MatthewJuly 24, 2012This charger is absolutely flawless! Easily charges at 20amps and is actually rated up to 500watts. Highly recommended!
Thunder 1220 Professional Multifunction Lipo/Lilo/LiFe NiCd/MH Balance Chargerstar rating 5Kevin From FloridaJuly 4, 2012You can't touch a charger that compares to this for anywhere near the price. I have used the 50w chargers for a while, then moved up to the 200w chargers, now I'm at this one, I have an electric stand up scooter that I made a lithium pack for that consists of 6 lipo packs that are 6S, 5000mah each, that's basically a 30ah 6s pack... when I tried to use the 200w charger, it would overheat if I used it anywhere near the 200w rating, but this charger I can use at the 300w and you can just hear the fans screaming, they won't let it get even warm to the touch, nowhere on the charger does it get hot, or even warm. What I do for a power supply is I use a battery from a car (a spare that I have) and I just hook up a 12v car charger that I got from walmart that charges at 6amps 12v, I know that this 1220 charger is capable of using over double that power, but as long as I have the car battery topped off before I start charging, I have no issues at all. I also have a losi8te, and rc8be on 4s that I charge with this charger, and a few 2s cars, so this is an awesome charger to charge pretty much everything I have with the capability of charging at the 2s rating that most new packs have. Bottom line I love it, and would definitely recommend it to a friend.
Reviews provided by StarProductReviews